Are You Black Enough?

I was reading my copy of “The Boondocks: Because I Know You Don’t Read the Newspaper” and noticed something surprising. In one strip, Huey was playing Granddad in a video game. By the dialog, I could tell they were playing video soccer. Wow. Now this comic strip is about two boys that move from the south side of Chicago to the suburbs of Woodcrest with their grandfather, and they’re playing a soccer video game. Just out of curiosity, how many black Americans do you know that have a copy of FIFA 2007 or Winning Eleven: Pro Evolution Soccer 2007? Personally, I’m the only one I know about. All my black friends are busy playing Madden, NCAA Football, NBA Live or NBA 2K7. But soccer? Please.

 

So, the question is, why are two kids from the “ghetto” playing what is considered a “white” sport? Could it be because soccer is the number one sport in the world? Could Aaron McGruder be a soccer fan? I’m willing to bet that most people that read The Boondocks didn’t even pick up that these kids and their grandfather were playing video soccer. The irony went entirely over their heads.

 

I, on the other hand, happen to be a huge fan. I have a few kits (jerseys) from my favorite team (Chelsea), watch Fox Soccer Channel avidly, and play in an adult league. Heck, I’ve even scored a few goals, for my team and our opponents. But I digress. Black people in America don’t play soccer, at least not yet. As soon as they start paying everyone like Freddy Adu, we’ll pick it up just as quickly as we do basketball and football.

 

The reason I mention all of this, is because a female I was sort of dating a few years ago, basically told me I wasn’t black enough because I liked soccer. Needless to say, I was dumbfounded. I’m not black enough because I like soccer? Last I checked, soccer was the number one sport on the continent of Africa. And there are waaaaaaay more blacks there than in the US.

 

Her statement just shows the continued ignorance that we black Americans still show. Never mind that I went to two HBCUs. Never mind that I volunteer with black youths. Never mind that every day I wake up and look in the mirror, I see a black man. I’m not black enough because I have some interests that are mostly shared with white people in this country. And yes, I even sound “white” because I have a college education and speak all proper. Here’s a secret for you….most educated people speak proper. It has nothing to do with race.

 

It’s this attitude that is holding us back as a race. We’re too worried about our “blackness” and “keepin’ it real”. I mean, who needs the Klu Klux Klan when we do more harm to ourselves. Instead of being color-struck or jealous of what the next guy has, we need to start working together. There is more than enough for everyone. Who cares if Omar has more than I do. I’d much rather ask Omar how he got to where he is and could he be a mentor to help me get there to. But remember, at the end of the day, to a lot of people out there, no matter how successful we are, or how much money we have, or how great an athlete we are, we’re already “black enough” in their eyes. We’re all just another n*****.

One Response to Are You Black Enough?

  1. Rai says:

    You know Dope, I can really feel you on that. Although I have to disagree with you on one point, soccer is a predominately hispanic sport in America. But that is neither here nor there. You mentioned breifly the KKK, what we as black americans fail to realize is that we are living out the dreams and plans of the KKK for them. They decided to brainwash a few and that few brainwashed another few into black on black stupidity. They have washed their hands of the situation and now they sit back and watch us destroy ourselves. I too get the “you sound white” thing all the time and the first thing I say is…”why because I am educated?” Even my two co-workers have fallen into this cycle of ignorance… they told me they can tell when they answer the phone who is black and who is white. * Big Sigh * Then they call me a fake and phoney when I tell them that I can’t, even more so, one is a white male and the other a black female. Both highly educated, but trapped in a system that makes them feel obligated to label someone. I tell them no I don’t hear black and white when I answer the phone, but I can hear ignorant and educated.

Leave a Reply

